Contact Us | Site Map

SLHD Board Members

The Sydney Local Health District Board and the Chief Executive are responsible for:

  • Improving local patient outcomes and responding to issues that arise throughout our Local Health District.
  • Monitoring the performance of our Local Health District against performance measures in the LHD Service Agreement.
  • Delivering services and performance standards within an agreed budget, based on annual strategic and operating plans. This forms the basis of our Local Health District Service Agreement.
  • Ensuring services are provided efficiently and accountably. Production of Annual Reports that are subject to State financial accountability and audit frameworks.
  • Maintaining effective communication with local and State public health
The Board is chaired by the Hon. Ron Phillips and ten Board Members who bring a wealth of experience and local knowledge to the management of our LHD:

Victoria Weekes Victoria Weekes - Acting Board Chair

Victoria Weekes is a professional non-executive director with more than 25 years’ experience as a senior executive in the financial services sector. Currently, Victoria is the Independent Chair of OnePath Custodians, a major superannuation fund, and a director of URB a listed investment company. Victoria is Deputy Chair of SGCH, one of NSW’s largest community housing groups and President of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia (Finsia). Victoria is also a member of the ASIC Markets Disciplinary Panel, Chair of the NSW Treasury Audit & Risk Committee, and a member of the State Library Council of NSW. Victoria was previously a director of the Cure Brain Cancer Foundation, ANZ Trustees, the Livestock Health & Pest Authority and Comcover Advisory Council.

Dr Thomas Karplus Dr Thomas Karplus

Dr Thomas Karplus is a Senior Staff Specialist in Vascular Medicine in the Sydney Local Health Network and also an Honorary Visiting Medical Practitioner in the Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network. For 20 years he has been in private practice as a Vascular Physician in Burwood. Dr Karplus is Treasurer-General of the International Union of Angiology (IUA) and is on the Executive and Administrative Boards of the IUA. He is State Secretary of the NSW branch of the Australian Salaried Medical Officers Federation (ASMOF) and is also a Federal Councillor of ASMOF. Previously he was Chair of the Medical Staff Council at Concord Hospital and Chair of the Medical Staff Executive Council at Sydney South West Area Health Service.

David McLean David McLean

David McLean has a 35-year career in healthcare communications and marketing in Australia, USA and South East Asia at Chief Executive level in a leading multinational corporation. A co-founder and chairman of The University of Sydney Medical School’s Cancer Communications Unit, Mr McLean served as a board member of the Faculty of Pharmacy Foundation. He has a passion for patient advocacy and effective professional patient communications. He continues to serve in other board and chair positions and mentors young, high-potential talent.

Associate Professor Mary Haines Associate Professor Mary Haines
BA Hons (Psych) PhD GAICD

Associate Professor Mary Haines has worked in senior positions across the government, academic, corporate and independent sectors. She is currently a Senior Adviser at the Sax Institute; Adjunct Associate Professor at the Menzies Centre for Health Policy, University of Sydney; and Director of Mary Haines Consulting. Her expertise lies in health research, translational initiatives, evaluation, strategic policy development and implementation.

Ronwyn North Ronwyn North

Ronwyn North is a professional practice consultant and educator with more than 20 years' experience providing independent advice in the public, private and not for profit sectors. She is known for her expertise and 'thought leadership' in organisational governance and development, professional practice management and professional risk and ethics exposure, particularly in the legal services sector. Ms North was an external member of University of Sydney Senate's Safety and Risk Management Committee for more than five years and former chair of the Continuing Legal Education Association of Australasia (CLEAA).

Associate Professor Christine Giles Adjunct Associate Professor Christine Giles

Associate Professor Christine Giles is an experienced non-executive director in government and not-for-profit sectors, and executive leader in health specializing in policy, strategy and thought leadership. Christine has extensive organisational and health policy experience at the Commonwealth and State level and across the public and private sectors. Christine is recognised for her expertise in public policy in health and the provision of strategic policy and organisational advice. Christine's interests in health include good governance, health systems policy, and the provision of value -based health care.

Christine holds a Master of Public Policy from the Economics Faculty, School of Business and Government, Sydney University and is an Associate of the Menzies Centre for Health Policy.

Christine currently holds the positions of Principal Policy Advisor to Cancer Australia and is an Independent member of its Audit and Risk Committee.

Frances O’Brien Frances O'Brien

Frances O’Brien is the Director of Nursing and Midwifery Services at Canterbury Hospital. Mrs O’Brien has worked within the Sydney Local Health District area for over 20 years during which time she has occupied a number of senior nursing positions. Frances has extensive experience in health and in particular acute care services. She is committed to innovation and the delivery of safe and effective patient care.

Professor Paul Torzillo Professor Paul Torzillo AM

Professor Paul Torzillo is an executive Clinical Director, Head of Respiratory Medicine and a senior Intensive Care physician at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and a Clinical Professor of Medicine at The University of Sydney. For more than 30 years, he has had a major involvement in Aboriginal health and is the Medical Director of the Nganampa Health Council in the north-west corner of South Australia.

Mr Richard AchesonMr Richard Acheson

Mr Richard Acheson has senior management experience with Australian national, state and local governments, and in the not-for-profit sector, with an emphasis on engaging and collaborating with Aboriginal, ethnic and religious communities, and diverse stakeholders at all levels to develop policy, plan and implement projects, manage issues, and resolve disputes. He has represented NSW and advised NSW Ministers at national councils on immigration and multicultural affairs. He was a member of the executive of Multicultural NSW, conducted public inquiries into matters affecting communities in NSW, and has participated on national and state wide boards and committees. He currently mentors individuals and provides advice to small community organisations.

Kerry-Anne Hartman Kerry-Anne Hartman

Kerry-Anne Hartman is a lawyer with extensive experience in administrative law, migration law and refugee law. Kerry-Anne has served as a member of numerous Commonwealth bodies including the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, the Refugee Review Tribunal, the Migration Review Tribunal and the Immigration Review Tribunal. She has more than 20 years experience conducting independent merits based reviews of administrative decisions. Kerry-Anne is currently on a panel of Conduct Reviewers for a local Council in NSW, and has also worked in private practice.