Sydney Research

Sydney Research Awards and Scholarship Program 2018

The Sydney Research Awards and Scholarships Program is designed to celebrate and encourage research excellence across our partnership.
The Awards and Scholarships are presented at the annual Sydney Innovation and Research Symposium. 

The 2018 Awards and Scholarships were presented on 22 June 2018 by Dr Teresa Anderson AM, Dr Zoran Bolevich, Adj Assoc Prof Vicki Taylor and Ms Victoria Weekes


Research Excellence Award for the best publication in a high impact journal

Professor John E. J. Rasko AO

Professor John Rasko is a clinical haematologist, pathologist and scientist with an international reputation in gene and stem cell therapy, experimental haematology and molecular biology. Rasko is an Australian pioneer in the application of adult stem cells and genetic therapy. Since 1999 he has directed the Department of Cell and Molecular Therapies at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and the Gene and Stem Cell Therapy Program at the Centenary Institute, University of Sydney.

In over 150 publications he has contributed to the understanding of stem cells and blood cell development, gene transfer technologies, cancer causation and treatment, human genetic diseases and non-coding RNAs.


Research Excellence Award for the best publication in a high impact journal

Associate Professor Greg Fox

Associate Professor Greg Fox is a Respiratory Physician at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital whose research focuses on detection and prevention of tuberculosis. He is a NHMRC Career Development Fellow at the University of Sydney. Over the past decade he has established an ongoing research partnership with the National Tuberculosis Program in Vietnam, where he leads a number of multi-centre trials focused upon the detection and prevention of tuberculosis and chronic lung disease. Dr Fox also chairs the Australasian Clinical Tuberculosis research network, which undertakes collaborative research to strengthen tuberculosis control across Australia and New Zealand.


Young Researcher Award

Dr Camilla Hoyos

Dr Camilla Hoyos is a NHMRC-ARC Dementia Research Fellow in the School of Psychology, Charles Perkins Centre and Brain and Mind Centre at the University of Sydney. She is also an affiliate researcher in the Centre for Sleep and Chronobiology at the Woolcock Institute of Medical Research. Dr Hoyos is passionate about generating new knowledge on how sleep disorders, insufficient sleep and poorly timed sleep impact on health.



Research Supervisor Award

Professor Mark D Gorrell

Mark Gorrell BSc PhD is Professor of Liver Science in The University of Sydney School of Medicine in the Faculty of Medicine and Health. He has been attached to the gastroenterology department of RPA Hospital for all but 4 years since 1988.

Mark now heads a liver research program of the Centenary Institute. His best known research here is pioneering biochemical and pathology studies on the diabetes drug target DPP4 and the tumour-associated enzyme FAP in human liver scarring. He has authored 139 publications attracting >6,000 citations. He is an editorial board member for Scientific Reports and active in the International Proteolysis Society and the Gastroenterological Society of Australia.

He has supervised 16 PhD, 2 Masters and 14 Honours research students since 1998. He is the co-ordinator of postgraduate students for the Centenary Institute.


Annual Health Research Infrastructure Award

Dr Elinor Hortle

Dr Elinor Hortle is a post-doctoral researcher interested in studying the interactions between host and pathogen. She started her research career at the University of Tasmania, before completing her PhD at Macquarie University, studying the effect of genetics on resistance to malaria in mice. She then moved into zebrafish research, and is currently working at the Centenary Institute investigating the ways in which platelets affect tuberculosis infection. Through this research, she hopes to uncover new ways to treat this deadly disease.



Clinician Researcher Scholarship

Ms Claire Hutchinson

Claire trained as a Registered Nurse in the UK and came to Australia in 2006 where she started work in the Emergency Department at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital. Claire became a Clinical Nurse Specialist in the ED and later took on the Clinical Nurse Educator role before taking on and establishing the Clinical Nurse Consultant role at Canterbury Emergency Department in 2012. Claire is a well-respected emergency nurse within the SLHD and remains passionate about emergency nursing and improving practice. Claire has had the opportunity to work with distinguished Emergency researchers such as Professor Mike Dinh, Professor Margaret Fry and Professor Kate Curtis, which has not only given her a fundamental understanding of the research process but also given her the drive to conduct her own research.  

Claire was unable to attend to accept her award as she had just given birth to her beautiful daughter Olivia. Accepting the award on her behalf is Lindy Collins, NUM, Canterbury Hospital Emergency Department.  


Health Informatics Researcher Scholarship

Miss Racha Dabliz

In late 2017, Racha worked as a Pharmacy Analytics project officer, developing an eMEDs for Quality Use of Medicines Framework at the South Eastern Sydney Local Health District. This sparked her interest in the optimisation of eMEDs, and in 2018 she began her masters of Philosophy at the School of Pharmacy at The University of Sydney. Her research involves evaluating the Concord Hospital Intensive Care Unit Trial of eMEDs. She is also currently working as a pharmacist at Concord Hospital. Prior to this, she worked as a mental health pharmacist at Concord Hospital where she investigated the appropriate metabolic monitoring of patients on antipsychotics and presented this work at the 6th World Congress of Clinical Safety in 2017.