Sydney Research

Sydney Research Awards and Scholarships Program 2019

The Sydney Research Awards and Scholarships Program is designed to celebrate and encourage research excellence across the organisations in the Sydney Research partnership.

The Awards and Scholarships are presented at the annual Sydney Innovation and Research Symposium.

There categories are:

  • Research Excellence Award for the best publication in a high impact journal
  • Young Researcher Award
  • Research Supervisor Award
  • Annual Health Research Infrastructure Award
  • Clinician Researcher Scholarship
  • Health Informatics Researcher Scholarship

The 2019 Awards and Scholarships was on Thursday 27 June, as part of the 2019 Sydney Innovation and Research Symposium.

The awards were presented by The Hon Brad Hazzard MP, Ms Victoria Weekes and Dr Teresa Anderson AM.


The 2019 sponsors were:



Research Excellence Award for the best publication in a high impact journal

Professor Helen Reddel

Publication: Inhaled Combined Budesonide-Formoterol as Needed in Mild Asthma, The New England Journal of Medicine

Professor Helen Reddel’s studies have been translated into international policy and practice and have the potential to reduce asthma exacerbations and deaths worldwide.

She is a Research Leader at the Woolcock Institute of Medical Research, Clinical Adviser for the Australian Centre for Airways disease Monitoring, Honorary VMO at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and Chair of the Global Initiative for Asthma Science Committee.

Professor Helen Reddel

Young Researcher Award

Associate Professor Alexander Menzies
Associate Professor Alexander Menzies is an outstanding Early Career Researcher, who has conducted several investigator-led and sponsored clinical trials. He also manages the medical oncology clinical and biospecimen databases that underpin clinical and translational research.

He is well accomplished, publishing 68 papers since completing his PhD four years ago and securing almost $4 million in grant funding. Alex is a Medical Oncologist and Associate Professor of Melanoma Medical Oncology at Melanoma Institute Australia, The University of Sydney, and Royal North Shore and Mater Hospitals.

Associate Professor Alexander Menzies

Research Supervisor Award

Professor Christopher Maher
Professor Christopher Maher is an outstanding Postgraduate Research Supervisor, with over 620 publications, over $28 million in research grants and 35 PhD and 15 honours completions. He has created a research student culture where diversity and inclusion are prioritised and dignity and respect are at the core of his interactions.

Chris is recognised internationally for his research in lower back pain and is currently Professor in the Sydney School of Public Health and founding Director of the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health.

Professor Christopher Maher

Annual Health Research Infrastructure Award

Dr Luke Carroll
Dr Luke Carroll has a PhD in Type 1 diabetes and has spent five years in the field of diabetes research. He is a research assistant at the NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre. His research focus on the measurement of telomere length. It is important both as a marker and possible mediator of diabetes onset and complications, and the development and outcomes of other diseases.

Dr Luke Carroll

Clinician Researcher Scholarship

Dr Robert Rawson
Dr Robert Rawson is completing his PhD on improving melanoma patient outcomes by enhancing pathological and molecular assessment of primary and metastatic melanoma. He is a staff specialist (Anatomical Pathologist) at NSW Health Pathology, working at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital.

Dr Robert Rawson

Health Informatics Researcher Scholarship

Ms Julianne Chong
Ms Julianne Chong’s research focuses on assessing the success and effectiveness of the venous thromboembolism (also known as VTE) stewardship team at Concord Hospital in its aim to reduce hospital-acquired VTE. She is a VTE stewardship and clinical pharmacist at Concord Hospital and has a special interest in haematology and cardiology.

Ms Julianne Chong

Previous winners
Find out more about the previous winners: